What is NEBOSH… and why do I need to know what it means?!

What is NEBOSH?

Quite simply, NEBOSH stands for the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health. Importantly, the board doesn’t provide health and safety training courses but instead it provides syllabuses, exams and assignments to Accredited Course Providers,.

Who needs NEBOSH?

Those working in health and safety are often required to hold the appropriate NEBOSH qualification for their job role. For many, career progression is closely linked to enhanced NEBOSH qualifications hence there’s the desire to obtain the qualification.

NEBOSH qualifications are also recognised by professional membership bodies including the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH), the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) and the Institute of Environmental Management and Assessment (IEMA). This means that successful candidates can apply to use letters such as TechIOSH, GradIOSH, CMIOSH, and MIIRSM after their name, in order to show their accreditations.

In order to obtain an IOSH membership level, you must submit both your NEBOSH certificate and your CV to IOSH so that they can check that you have the qualifications and experience necessary for Tech IOSH.

How popular is NEBOSH?

Every year over 30,000 candidates take a course that leads to a NEBOSH qualification. NEBOSH courses are offered in 33 countries around the world – so if this is something that you are considering you’re not alone!

NEBOSH qualifications range from introductory Health and Safety at Work Qualification to the professional safety practitioner level NEBOSH Diploma.

What is the NEBOSH Certificate?

The NEBOSH Certificate is easily the UK’s most popular health and safety qualification. If you’re looking to launch a career in health and safety, the NEBOSH Certificate is ideal as it’s highly regarded, well recognised and requires no formal entry requirements.

The course itself is divided into three units, the first two are assessed by exams and the third one by a practical assessment. Once successfully completed candidates meet the academic requirements for Technical Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH) and associate membership of the IIRSM.

For those working overseas, the increasingly popular NEBOSH International Certificate replaces UK-based law with international standards and management systems.

Please note that the NEBOSH Certificate is a separate course to the NEBOSH Diploma…

What is the NEBOSH Diploma?

The NEBOSH Diploma is a prestigious and highly respected qualification, ultimately enabling Chartered (CMIOSH) status. Divided into four units (three assessed by exams and one by an assignment), it’s a rigorous and demanding course which never the less grows in popularity as safety professionals continue to recognise the benefits of holding such a qualification. There are alternative routes to CMIOSH status but arguably the diploma remains the most highly regarded and transferable across job role and sector and therefore stands candidates in good stead for the future.

That said, the cost and time out of the workplace represent investments that inevitably not all workplaces will support, in which case the NVQ Level 5 may be worth considering.

To find out more on the NEBOSH courses that First Class Safety can offer you, please visit:

If you’re unsure on which NEBOSH course would suit your requirements, please get in touch with us, where we will be happy to advise you on the most suitable course for you:

Phone: 01788 569774